Workspaces

Workspace types

A workspace is a way to centrally manage projects, users, and subscriptions.
Neptune has two workspace types: individual and team.

Individual

  • Each user is assigned an individual workspace with their username as the workspace name.
  • The user is the only member of this workspace but may invite collaborators to projects.
  • The user can create an unlimited number of projects in their individual workspace.

Team

  • A team workspace comes in handy when an entire team needs to be managed centrally.
  • You can try team workspace for free, for details check our pricing page.
  • Team workspace can be managed by the workspace Admin. The admin can manage users and subscription settings.
  • Only users who joined team workspace can browse its content, subject to the assigned role in the workspace or project.
Learn more about project types and user roles.

Create workspace

There are two types of workspaces in Neptune, individual and team:

Invite users to workspace

After you have created a workspace, you can invite members to join it:
  • Only a workspace Admin can invite new users to a workspace.
  • In the case of a team workspace, as soon as a user is added, s(he) is listed automatically.
  • In the case of an individual workspace, users are explicitly invited and have to accept the invitation before they are added. Those users can leave the Projects that they joined at any time.
  • Only workspace members can be added to Projects in team workspaces.
Note You can only collaborate on your private projects in a Team workspace. Try Team workspace for 14 days for free.
Read how to set up a team workspace.

Step 1

Click the name of the current workspace on the top bar.
Finding settings tab for the project

Step 2

In the panel that appears, click the People tab.
  • The tab displays the list of users who already belong to the workspace or whose membership is pending.
  • Above the list is a field in which you can type an email or username of people you want to invite. Neptune identifies names and emails for people who already have an account.

Step 3

Inviting users to workspace in the People tab of the Neptune UI
Choose a name, set a role (Admin or Member), and click Invite.
The users you invite will be invited via email to join your workspace (in case of already registered users, through an in-app notification). Until they join, their status is marked as “Pending invitation”.

Workspace read-only mode

Your workspace can enter the read-only mode in case of three events:
  • When your workspace runs out of monitoring hours.
  • When your workspace exceeds its storage quota.
  • If Neptune has not been able to charge the monthly fee for the last 14 days, in case of a paid subscription.

Workspace run out of monitoring hours

If you run out of monitoring hours admin of the workspace can top up your workspace with additional monitoring hours - head to the Subscription page of the workspace. You are the admin of your personal workspace. Alternatively, you can wait for when you receive your new monthly package of monitoring hours (the exact date depends on when you signed up for the Neptune).

Workspace exceeded its storage quota

If the workspace goes over its storage quota, the admin of the workspace can increase its storage quota - head to the Subscription page of the workspace. You are the admin of your personal workspace. Alternatively, you can delete old data either through the web application or programmatically through the Python API.

Neptune has not been able to charge the monthly fee

If Neptune has not been able to charge the monthly fee it can mean that either there were not enough funds available when the card was charged or simply the card has expired. In both cases, head to the Subscription page of the workspace to update your payment method and let us know through Intercom or by email.

How does the read-only mode work?

While in read-only mode, you have full access to all your metadata stored in Neptune.
You can browse or analyze your metadata through the web application and fetch it programmatically with the read-only connection mode. You can also delete old data either through the web application or programmatically through the Python API.
However, you won’t be able to track new runs or upload new metadata to the existing ones.

What will happen if I am in the middle of tracking new data?

If your workspace enters the read-only mode while you are logging new metadata (e.g. while training models), the client library will automatically enter an offline mode. All metadata tracked after that will be stored locally and can later be uploaded with the Neptune Command Line Interface.
Don’t worry – when you will be running out of the monitoring hours or when you will be close to going over the storage quota, we will let you know in advance so that it doesn’t catch you as a surprise.

What's next?

Last modified 1mo ago