Team, Project and User Management

This page describes the concepts of team, project and user roles and permissions as they are used in Neptune. It also provides instructions for creating projects and workspaces and adding users to them.

Workspace Types

A workspace is a way to centrally manage projects, users and subscriptions.

Neptune has two workspace types: individual and team.

Individual

  • Each user is assigned an individual workspace with their username as the workspace name.

  • The user is the only member of this workspace but may invite collaborators to projects.

  • The user can create an unlimited number of projects in their individual workspace.

Team

  • A team workspace comes in handy when an entire team needs to be managed centrally.

  • Once created, a team workspace can be managed by the workspace Admin. The admin can manage users and subscription settings.

  • Only users who joined team workspace can browse its content, subject to the assigned role in the workspace or project.

Learn more about project types and user roles.


User Roles

There are roles in projects and in workspaces.

Roles in a workspace

Workspace roles apply only to team workspaces.

If you have created a workspace, you can invite people to it. Two roles are available: Admin and Member.

The following table summarizes the permissions available for the workspace roles.

Permission

Admin

Member

Managing subscription (including invoice data)

yes

no

Managing workspace members

yes

no

Creating and deleting projects

yes

no

You can access workspace settings by clicking the workspace name on the top bar.

workspace settings button

Workspace settings can be viewed under the Overview, Projects, People, and Subscription tabs.

workspace settings tabs

Note

  • An Admin of a workspace is also the Owner of all projects and can grant workspace ownership to anyone in the workspace.

  • Project Owners can grant project ownership to anyone in the workspace.

  • A workspace must have at least one Admin, so the last remaining Admin cannot be removed from the workspace.

Roles in a project

The following table summarizes the permissions available for the three project roles: Owner, Contributor and Viewer.

  • Content permissions refer to running experiments, creating Notebooks, and modifying previously stored data.

  • Project member permissions are those for inviting members and change their roles.

  • Project settings permissions refer to the definition of a project as private or public.

Permission

Owner

Contributor

Viewer

Viewing project content

yes

yes

yes

Editing project content

yes

yes

no

Viewing project members

yes

yes

yes

Editing project members

yes

no

no

Viewing or editing of project settings and properties

yes

no

no


Project Types

There are private and public projects.

Private projects

Only people added to the project can see it. The project Owner can manage who has access to the project in the Settings view.

Here is an example view, where the project Owner can manage project members:

Invite user to the project

Public projects

Public projects are freely available to view by everyone who has access to the Internet.

Also, in case of individual workspaces, you can invite collaborators to public projects only. Examples are: Credit default prediction and Binary classification metrics.

Create a workspace

  1. Click your avatar at the upper-right corner, then click Switch workspace, and finally click Create new workspace

create new workspace
  1. Type in a name and click Create workspace.

type name for new workspace
  1. Once the workspace has been created, you can invite people to your workspace.

type name for new workspace

Invite Users to a Workspace

After you have created a workspace, you can invite members to join it.

Note

  • Only a workspace Admin can invite new users to a workspace.

  • In case of a team workspace, as soon as a user is added, s(he) is listed automatically.

  • In case of an individual workspace, users are explicitly invited and have to accept the invitation before they are added. Those users can leave the Projects that they joined at any time.

  • Only workspace members can be added to Projects in team workspaces.

  1. Click the name of the current workspace on the top bar.

Go to settings to invite user to workspace
  1. In the panel that appears, click the People tab.

Invite user to workspace
  • The tab displays the list of users who already belong to the workspace or whose membership is pending.

  • Above the list is a field in which you can type an email or username of people you want to invite. Neptune identifies names and emails for people who already have an account.

  1. Specify a name, set a role (Admin or Member) and click Invite.

The users you invite will be invited via email to join your workspace (in case of already registered users, through an in-app notification). Until they join, their status is marked as “Pending invitation”.

Create a Project

Neptune lets you create a project.

  1. Click Project at the top-left of the window.

  2. In the pane that appears, click New project.

Go to new project panel
  1. Set a name, color, description and project type (Public or Private).

Create new project
  1. Click Apply.

The new project is created.

Add Users to a Project

Note

Only a project Owner can invite new users to the project. Learn more about project roles.

  1. In the Project pane, click Settings, then click the People tab.

  • The tab displays the list of project members who already belong to the project.

  • Above the list is a field in which you can type an email or username of people you want to invite. Neptune identifies names and emails for people who already have an account.

  1. Specify an email or username of a user you want to add.

  2. Set a role and click Invite.

Add users to project

Note

  • If a user is registered in Neptune.ai, s(he) can be added from the UI, under Project Settings > People. If the user is not yet registered in Neptune.ai, s(he) can be invited by email. In any case, the user needs to accept the invitation, before s(he) appears in the list.

  • If the project is created in an individual workspace, you can only invite users to a public project. The user is notified by email and must accept the invitation to be added. You cannot add users to a private project.