User Management

User Roles

There are user roles in projects and in workspaces.

Roles in a workspace

Workspace roles apply only to team workspaces.

If you have created a Team workspace, you can invite people to it. Two roles are available: Admin and Member.

The following table summarizes the permissions available for the workspace roles.

Permission

Admin

Member

Managing subscription (including invoice data)

yes

no

Managing workspace members

yes

no

Creating and deleting projects

yes

no

You can access workspace settings by clicking the workspace name on the top bar.

workspace settings button

Workspace settings can be viewed under the Overview, Projects, People, and Subscription tabs.

workspace settings tabs

Note

  • An Admin of a workspace is also the Owner of all projects and can grant workspace ownership to anyone in the workspace.

  • Project Owners can grant project ownership to anyone in the workspace.

  • A workspace must have at least one Admin, so the last remaining Admin cannot be removed from the workspace.

Roles in a project

The following table summarizes the permissions available for the three project roles: Owner, Contributor and Viewer.

  • Content permissions refer to running experiments, creating Notebooks, and modifying previously stored data.

  • Project member permissions are those for inviting members and change their roles.

  • Project settings permissions refer to the definition of a project as private or public.

Permission

Owner

Contributor

Viewer

Viewing project content

yes

yes

yes

Editing project content

yes

yes

no

Viewing project members

yes

yes

yes

Editing project members

yes

no

no

Viewing or editing of project settings and properties

yes

no

no